2018 Women’s Empowerment Principles Forum

14.00 - 14.45


Mistress of Ceremonies

Ms. Laura Trevelyan, BBC Anchor/Correspondent

15.00 - 15.15

Welcome and Opening remarks

Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, Deputy Secretary-General, United Nations

H.E Mrs. Geraldine Byrne Nason, CSW62 Chair, Permanent Representative of Ireland to the United Nations

Ambassador Mara Marinaki, Principal Advisor on Gender and on the Implementation of UNSCR 1325 on Women, Peace and Security, European Union


15:15 – 15:30

Fireside Chat

Moderator: Ms. Laura Trevelyan, BBC Anchor/Correspondent


Ms. Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, United Nations Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UN Women

Ms. Lise Kingo, CEO and Executive Director, ‎United Nations Global Compact


15.30 - 16.10

PANEL I: Innovation and Infrastructure for and by Rural Women

Moderator: Ms. LauraStachel, Co-Founder and Executive Director,We Care Solar


Ms. Michèle Sabban, Honorary President of R20 and President of the Green Fund for Women

Mr. Eduardo Martinez, President, The UPS Foundation and Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer, UPS

Mr. Scott N. Mitchell, President & CEO, Sumitomo Chemical America

Ms. Katherine Lucey, Founder and CEO, Solar Sister

Ms. Luz Maria Jaramillo, President, Pavimentos Colombia

Ms. Joanne Farrell, Managing Director, Rio Tinto

16:10 – 16:15

Keynote Remarks

Ms. Padma Lakshmi, Author, actress, model, television host, executive producer

16:15. – 16:55

PANEL II: Transforming investing for Gender Equality

Moderator: Ms.Linda Eling Lee, Head of Research, MSCI


Ms. Stephanie Oueda Cruz, Head of Gender and Diversity at IDB Invest, Inter-American Development Bank

Ms. Diana van Maasdjik, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Equileap

Ms. Ahu Serter, Founder and President, Arya Women Investment Platform

Ms. Tracey B. Warson, Head of Citi Private Bank, North America, Citigroup

Ms. Alison Pyott, CFP®, Partner and Senior Wealth Manager, Veris Wealth Partners


16:55 – 17:00

Keynote Remarks

Ms. Patricia Greene, Director, Women’s Bureau, US Department of Labour

17:00 – 17:40

PANEL III: The Future of work


Ms. Amber Nystrom, CEO and Chief Impact Officer, 5th Element Fund; Co-Founder, 5th Element Group 


Mr. Bryan Smith, Senior Vice President, Chief Human Resources Officer, Nasdaq

Ms. Andrea Avila, CEO, Randstad Argentina and Uruguay

Mr. Vinicius Carvalho Pinheiro, Special Representative to the UN and Director of ILO in NY, ILO

Ms. Ana Dolores Roman, CM & PEH Lead, Pfizer Ecuador

Mr. Haig R. Nalbantian, Senior Partner at Mercer & Founder of Mercer’s Workforce Sciences Institute, Mercer

Discussant from the floor:

Ms. Alexa Roscoe, Digital Economy Lead, Gender Secretariat, IFC


17:40 – 18:00

Closing remarks

Ms. Anna Falth, Manager, WEPs, UN Women

Ms. Allison Tummon Kamphuis, Gender Equality & Children’s Safe Drinking Water Program Leader, Procter & Gamble


NOTE: Only participants with special issued UN pass will be allowed in the ECOSOC Conference Room. The pass should match the name and surname of the participant, as indicated in the ID or Driving License.




The 2018 WEPs Forum was sponsored by European Union